Effective January 1, 2010

The rates payable in cents per kilometre for the use of privately owned vehicles driven on authorized government business travel are shown below:

Province/Territory Cents/km
(taxes included)
Alberta 51.5
British Columbia 51.0
Manitoba 48.0
New Brunswick 49.5
Newfoundland and Labrador 53.0
Northwest Territories 57.5
Nova Scotia 50.5
Nunavut 57.5
Ontario 54.5
Prince Edward Island 50.0
Quebec 56.0
Saskatchewan 46.0
Yukon 59.5


  • The kilometric rate payable when a Canadian registered vehicle is driven on government business travel in more than one province or in the USA shall be the rate applicable to the province or territory of registration of the vehicle.

For convenience, the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade (DFAIT) kilometric rates: